Image by Aditya Joshi

TAKE ACTION: CONTACT THE MINISTERS

Tell the Ministers we don't need this quarry.

You can help by submitting a letter to the appropriate members of Council and Parliament. 

A brief and heartfelt message will suffice for now (example text below).

Email template

Dear <insert name>,

I am writing on behalf of several concerned communities who have been made aware of the hard rock quarry being proposed within 2km's of homes.

 

Based on my readings (brochure attached for your reference), the health ramifications of thousands of people as a result of this proposal do not stack up against the few jobs it will create (only 20).

<provide some additional reasons here i.e. I already hear and/or feel the blasting from my home, I am already impacted by dust exacerbating health conditions, the safety of my family on the roads will be impacted with 100 more trucks daily>

I'd like to bring this matter to your attention for further discussion and hope to gain your support in squashing this proposal.

Thank you,

<your name>

and/or On Behalf of all Concerned Residents

In your email, you may wish to:

  • ask the Minister to reject the proposal

  • ask the Minister for a list of more suitable locations for a quarry

  • outline some personal reasons as to why you oppose the quarry

Ministers

Robert Gordon Stokes    

Minister for Planning and Public Spaces    

1725 Pittwater Road
MONA VALE NSW 2103   

(02) 9999 3599    

pittwater@parliament.nsw.gov.au

The Hon (John) Giovanni Domenic Barilaro, Member for Monaro 

213 Crawford Street
QUEANBEYAN NSW 2620

(02) 6299 4899

monaro@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Mick Gentleman, MLA

(02) 6205 0218

GENTLEMAN@act.gov.au

Jim Molan

Suite O101A, Riverside Plaza
131 Monaro Street, Queanbeyan, NSW, 2620

(02) 6284 3115

senator.molan@aph.gov.au

The Hn. Adam Searle    

​Shadow Minister for Planning the opposition    

Parliament House, Macquarie Street
SYDNEY NSW 2000

(02) 9230 2160    

adam.searle@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Shelley Hankock

Minister for Local Government

1/57 Plunkett Street
NOWRA NSW 2541

(02) 4421 0222

southcoast@parliament.nsw.gov.au

 

Tim Overall

Queanbeayn Mayor

6285 6223

Tim.Overall@qprclr.nsw.gov.au

 

Kristy McBain

Member for Eden-Monaro

1/21-25 Monaro Street

Queanbeyan, NSW, 2620

(02) 6284 2442

Kristy.McBain.MP@aph.gov.au

 

Matthew Kean

Minister for Energy and Environment
Suite 5 The Madison, 25-29 Hunter Street
HORNSBY NSW 2077

(02) 9476 3411

hornsby@parliament.nsw.gov.au

 

Melinda Pavey

Minister for Water, Property and Housing

37 Elbow Street
WEST KEMPSEY NSW 2440

(02) 6562 6190

oxley@parliament.nsw.gov.au


 

Queanbeyan-Palerang Council

The Local Government Election which were to be held on Saturday 4 September 2021 will now be held on Saturday 4 December 2021.

Please help is rally support within the Council amongst our local representatives, which will add weight to our proposal rejection.

In your email, you may wish to:

  • ask the Councilor what their views on the quarry are

  • ask the Councilor what actions they can take to help reject this proposal

  • outline some personal reasons as to why you oppose the quarry

Tim Overall

Queanbeayn Mayor

6285 6223

Tim.Overall@qprclr.nsw.gov.au

Peter Taggart

CEO at QPRC

1300 735 025

council@qprc.nsw.gov.au

Brian Brown

0414 721 291

Brian.Brown@qprclr.nsw.gov.au

Mark Schweikert

0418 904 827

Mark.Schweikert@qprclr.nsw.gov.au

Trudy Taylor

0404 009 679

Trudy.Taylor@qprclr.nsw.gov.au

Michelle Biscotti

Deputy Mayor

0438 949 599

Michele.Biscotti@qprclr.nsw.gov.au

Kenrick Winchester

0438 346 013

Kenrick.Winchester@qprclr.nsw.gov.au

 

Peter Marshall

0428 597 227

Peter.Marshall@qprclr.nsw.gov.au

Pete Harrison

6238 3640

Pete.Harrison@qprclr.nsw.gov.au

Radmila Noveska

0410 940 298

Radmila.Noveska@qprclr.nsw.gov.au

Trevor Hicks

0438 685 739

Trevor.Hicks@qprclr.nsw.gov.au

Media

Our story has featured in the media previously, but the more noise we can make the more people in power that will hear.

ABC Radio

1300 681 666

abcradiocanberra@abc.net.au

Nick Fuller - Canberra Weekly Journalist

02 6175 8815

nick.fuller@canberraweekly.com.au

Canberra Times

The RiotACT

editor@region.com.au

 

Nine News

contact@9news.com.au

 

 

Seven News

tips@7news.com.au

Take

Action

Write to the Companies to express your opposition.

Environmental Impacts

The environmental impacts of this quarry may be irreversible. 

Health

Impacts

Learn about the health ramifications of quarries.

Donate to 

the cause

We need your financial assistance to stop this quarry