top of page

23APR2021 - A reply from the Mayor of Queanbeyan

"Good morning <names confidential> (Royalla Residents), Thank you for your email and just to let you know I attended the Community Consultation information session on Saturday morning 17TH April. As you are no doubt aware, the proposed development is classified as a State Significant Development in accord with State Government planning policy. Accordingly, the NSW Government is the assessing and determining authority. Clearly the proposed development is in stark conflict with Council’s adopted Local Environment Plan E2 (Environmental Conservation) Zone Objectives and permissibility. While early days, I am acutely aware of the initial views of the local community re the likely severe impact on the adjoining rural-residential E4 (Environmental Living) Zone areas should the project be approved by the State Government and proceed. Council will certainly be giving consideration to community views, concerns and objections when it gives consideration to the Environmental Impact Statement and attached reports. Once released by the State Government as part of the formal consultation process, Council will hold a workshop involving councillors and staff which will be followed by a formal report to a Meeting of Council whereupon Council will adopt a position and make a formal submission accordingly. Council’s submission will likely recommend certain conditions of consent to be included, in the event the State Govt Independent Planning Commission determines to approve/recommend approval. I will be discussing the matter with the Member for Monaro and Deputy Premier in the near future and formally advising of Council’s position once adopted at a Meeting of Council. Regards Tim Overall Mayor Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council Tel: 02 62856299 Mob: 0410 530 681 Web: Mail: PO Box Queanbeyan NSW 2620"

This was in response to an email originally sent by <names confidential> (Royalla Residents)

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The printed and distributed flyer set to arrive in every letter box to the following suburbs within southern ACT: Banks Bonython Calwell Conder Isabella Plains Richardson Theodore Feel free to use thi

bottom of page